strawberry-daiquiri-umbrella-drink.jpg

Today is my first day of Spring Break (woo-hoo).  I woke up a little on the late side (but not as late as Saturdays have been recently), checked out my ankle (all the colors of the rainbow, and looking less like it swallowed a football – more like it swallowed a tennis ball).  I got up, made myself a cup of coffee (I used my last coffee filter yesterday, so I improvised with one ply of a two-ply paper towel) and mulled over my day.  I’m not mobile enough to meander, and I’m forgoing grocery shopping for a few days (luckily, I have enough food to wait it out).  Last night, I was perusing some guidebooks for France, and that was pretty entertaining.

Yesterday, after work, I went to my one and only class on Friday.  I predicted (and I was not wrong) that class would be sparsely attended.  It is a large class (large for an upper level class, to be sure) and he doesn’t take attendance – so it was inevitable that only 25-30% of the class would show up.  I like the class, and not having any travel plans made going to class a no-brainer – I’d just go home – so why wouldn’t I go?

I must admit, I do wish I had some travel plans (even if I’m not a fast-moving as I could be).  I’ve never had a Spring Break trip, and while binge drinking with complete strangers has never appealed to me as an activity, there are lots of alternatives.  Then again, I’m planning on spending five days in Paris before the start of the summer term and three to four days in Venice after the end of the summer term (I know, I know, I’ve heard Venice has a…distinctive…odor, but I don’t care – I’ve always wanted to go to Venice, and there’s no time like the present [or at least the near future]).

Actually, I know this blog’s audience is not huge, but there is one; so, for the handful of you out there, I appeal to you – Any recommendations?  I’ll be in Paris for 5 days, Venice for 4 days.  I’m going to be in Grenoble for the remainder (with possible side trips to Marseilles, Lyon, Avignon, Nice and Cannes).  I’m reading the guidebooks (I don’t have one for Venice yet), but you know how that goes – information overload.  A few suggestions, especially those off the beaten path, would be much appreciated.

Vive le printemps!

