A handy little phrase, it is.  Perfect when you just want to drop it.  Or leave it.  Or both.  But I am afraid that while I have no problem saying, “laissez tomber,” actually doing so…not my best skill.  Je ne peux pas, if you will.  I stew, I wallow – and as for grudge holding, if it were an Olympic sport….I’ve tried to get better at letting things go, since I am well aware that holding on to crap can be detrimental to your health.

Why am I so inept at letting things go?  I don’t know.  I save receipts for way too long.  I don’t clean out my fridge on a timely basis.  I let things bother me for much longer than they should.

One thing I’ve noticed is that in the imperative form, you have three choices:  tu, vous and nous (you, you [plural or formal] and we).  There should really be an imperative for 1st person singular.  I’m not ready to refer to myself as “we,” since I am not of royal blood.  And calling myself “you,” while not without precedent, strikes the wrong note.  I suppose that I could just pretend that there is a first person singular imperative.  Just to give myself a pep talk.  I mean, you’re not going to rat me out to the French, are you?

 Laisse tomber, Senior Senior.  Laisse tomber.

