I’m in the home stretch of the semester.  Yesterday, I made my way to one of the campus libraries (not the meat market one; rather the one most likely to be frequented by the serious students), and plugged away.  I got a fair amount done, and felt pretty good about it.  I did have a final scheduled for today (that’s right, a Sunday final), but the professor had been willing to change it to a take-home, so I had it finished and turned in by yesterday.  I arranged my schedule to take today off, so I could do grocery shopping and hang out with my mom.  Today is Mother’s Day, but I hang out with my mom a lot, so it wasn’t a “special occasion,” so to speak.  But it meant a lot to both of us.

 My mom and I have had some setbacks lately, which we find annoying of course; but I think what bothers us the most is that we can’t step in and help each other out as much as we would like to.  We give each other moral support, which we appreciate, but we would like to be able to do more to help each other out.  I suppose it’s natural, but I think we undervalue the moral support.  I have often joked that even if I robbed a bank, my mom would still be there for me (but not in a Ma Barker way).  I have no interest in robbing a bank, not even to prove a point; but it is comforting to know that I have someone like that in my life.

So a shout-out to Mom!  Sometimes it is freaky that we have so much in common (especially our obscure sense of humor), but mostly it’s great.

