As the date of my departure approaches, I’ve been trying to figure out a rough idea of what I’m going to do when I hit Paris.  I made a list of everything that seems interesting to me, and, looking at a map of Paris, tried to figure out the most efficient sight-seeing plan.  Today it occurred to me:  I simply have too much on the list.  I’m going to have to pare it down.

I knew there was going to be no way I was going to fit everything on the list, but I had no idea how unrealistic it was.  I’ll be able to enjoy maybe a 1/3 of what I wrote down, maybe more if I decide not to go to Versailles (but I think I’d rather drop more things off the list than to miss out on a biggie like Versailles – it would be like skipping Notre Dame, which clearly is staying on the itinerary). 

I guess I’m acting like this will be my only trip to Paris, ever.  And granted, it took me a long time to get to Paris; but I’m pretty sure studying French at the graduate level is going to afford me many more opportunities to (eventually) hit everything on my list, discover some hidden gems, and then do it all over again.

What to save for later?  That remains the question.

