Since I have some free time leading up to my departure, I have been working on some spring cleaning.  I realize that it is a little belated, but I didn’t have time earlier.  It has been a daunting task, but I’ve been making real progress.  Part of the problem is that I’m always holding on to things, thinking that they’ll come in handy, or that I might eventually like that skirt again (even though they never do, and I never do).  But I have decided to be ruthless, and have chucked many worthless things, as well as making a sack of donatables (I’m guessing I no longer need five black pantsuits, now that I’ve switched to academia – especially since at least two of them are a size too big).  I have a small book from a bargain bin on Feng Shui.  In theory, getting rid of all this, er, crap should be therapeutic.  It should usher in a new stage of my life, at least until I accumulate more crap, although I would assume that I’ll want to get rid of the new crap when I move to wherever I end up going next year.

I wonder if it will really work, getting rid of the excess baggage (the literal kind – I figure the figurative type is a little trickier to jettison).  I do know that I have to keep my cleaning sessions short as I have been kicking up a lot of dust, which has been making me sick.  I bet that could be a metaphor as well, but I mean that all the dust makes my throat scratchy for a full day after a cleaning session.  Where in the hell does it come from, and why is it so difficult to get rid of it?  I have swiffered and vacuumed and it still pops up.  Like I said, there’s a metaphor in there, but I’ll leave it to you to interpret it to your satisfaction.

