This evening, I had dinner with my Ex.  I had talked to him and e-mailed him, but hadn’t seen him since we broke up (technically, a few days after, but close enough).  He has been kind enough to do a couple of favors for me (one small, which I had asked for; one large, which he had offered), and he suggested we meet for dinner.  I had, truth be told, been super wired about this – how weird was it going to be?  Would I cry?  (Answers:  not especially weird, and no)

We caught up, talking quite a bit about what has been going on in our lives.  I talked about grad school applications (he didn’t realize I wasn’t going to stay here – that I wasn’t applying here).  The conversation flowed like it always has between us.  Which is kind of sad, as well as a relief.  I did, in a casual manner, suggest that he could always follow me to wherever I may go – which he took exactly as I meant it.  How is that, you may ask? 

Look, I know where we stand – we have a timing issue.  I’m not going to hang around like Miss Havisham and wait for something that isn’t going to happen.  That said, we really had (and, in a way, still have) something special, and if your timing ever does catch up with mine, it wouldn’t hurt to tell me.  It could be an adventure.  If that doesn’t happen, it doesn’t happen – but I’ve gotta do what I’ve gotta do.

That said, I can’t leave the country fast enough.  Now if the State Department would just send me my damn passport…

