Today was a day, much like any other day – until I got home and got a bill for my old dial-up service.  Then I hit the roof.  I had stayed with the same company when I upgraded, but for months, I received bills for both services.  It took months for the issue to be resolved, and even then it involved a governmental agency; all the while, I kept getting calls from a collection agency (because I kept refusing to pay for service I canceled).  Finally, after nearly 6 months of back and forth, they finally fixed it.

Until now.

I may have been rude.  In fact, I started to yell, because the “customer service representative” (and believe me, these quotes are the ironic kind) tried to upgrade me to the high-speed service.  The kind I’ve had since January.  And then I may have yelled at the supervisor, who claimed I didn’t cancel the service.  Which I did.  Twice.

I have worked in customer service before, so I should sympathize.  However, when dealing with a disgruntled customer, I have never EVER tried to upsell them, nor have I insisted that they must have made a mistake.  Those are not wise choices.  Those are not helpful choices.  I have never worked for a company that was so incompetent at the fundamentals of customer service that it took 6 months to fix a simple billing error.

But now the residue of my anger has made me queasy, after a fashion.  I don’t feel particularly guilty for losing my temper, because of the way the company treated me.  I just hate getting angry, especially over a bill.  I mean, it is hardly the end of the world, but I don’t like being treated like an insignificant rube who will never notice two bills for one service, and I don’t like being on hold for 20 minutes, only to be told that I didn’t cancel my service correctly.  After all, how many ways can you interpret, “cancel it, cancel it all – I never want to be billed for this again.”?  Where’s the ambiguity?

This would be a perfect time to kick back with a cocktail; however, a cocktail can not be had by me for the next few days.  I’d go for a long walk, which often helps, but the weather currently sucks.

And if anyone one can recommend a good high-speed service provided and/or phone company, let me know.  I’m in the market for one with good customer service, as opposed to the shitty kind.

