Even though I don’t have any money that is not earmarked for food or my remaining grad school applications, I went to Macy’s to try on jeans.  Most of mine are not fitting their best (but that’s a good thing – too big!), so I thought I’d try some on to see what looks good.

Normally trying on jeans is only a step or two above trying on swimsuits, as I have one of the flattest asses in North America (but please don’t think that “flat” means “small” – it is a wide caboose).  I was pleasantly surprised, however, to find that every pair fit, even if I didn’t love every pair on.  The best looking pair was a style that I had already once owned, and loved so much I literally wore holes in them.  They are a little pricey (though relatively reasonable – just for kicks I did try on some $100+ pairs, and I’ve gotta say…meh.), but a pair of “good butt” jeans are pretty dang valuable.  Another style I liked was from the Junior’s department (which I usually avoid, because I don’t want to look like one of those women that are desperately trying to look younger by wearing every damn trend out there), and they were the cheapest pair I tried on, which goes to show that the whole $100-$200 jeans are overrated, if a brand that runs under $40 can kick their bedazzled asses (and that’s another thing – are rhinestones necessary?  It seems like that may smack of desperation).

I also tried on some sweaters, since I am a sweater junkie and some of my tops are looking a little droopy.  A question:  what in God’s name is up with this baby-doll trend?  I’m sorry, but I am not going to hide the fact that I am at my lowest weight in 3 years with a stupid empire-waist, which is just going to make me look pregnant.  Plus, it looks stupid.  If that means buying plain sweaters and t-shirts, so be it.

It was nice to go shopping and come out feeling good about myself.  Now if I only had some money….

